Senator Folmer’s SB 294: A Needed Step in the Right Direction

I’ve read the excellent and clear analysis provided by Timothy J. Horstmann, an associate of McNees Wallace & Nurick, here:

http://www.mwn.com/pubs/xprPubDetail.aspx?xpST=PubDetail&pub=326

Nothing being required is more onerous than what is typically done to procure municipal grants and low-interest loans worth a whole lot less to the taxpayer should something go south. In fact, nothing sounds like it is more arduous or voluminous than what is required of a municipal permit.

If DCED is only required to maintain records for four months now, that is recklessly inadequate. I keep my personal IRS and PA Dept of Rev filings for 5 years, and I believe I am required to do so. Even if I were “freed” of this requirement I would surely do so for more than four months. I keep my credit card and ATM withdrawal slips longer than four months!

The additional approval may prohibit the bizarre spectacle I witnessed at the Hburg Incinerator hearings the PA Senate held last year. Expert after well-paid expert – private and public sector – put hand up and swore he or she had no liability for anything that went wrong. If preliminary review and approval prevents a similar circus (or at least makes said more difficult) in the future, it is worth the very reasonable added requirements.

About steventodd

Both parties are broken by big money...what to do? I'm a dad, husband, son, taxpayer, voter, civil engineer, reporter, blogger, rabble-rouser and honest guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

